Maritime workers gather for 2016 National Conference


The four national officials of MUNZ were recently returned unopposed in national elections, Joe Fleetwood (National Secretary), Carl Findlay (National President), Selwyn Russell (National Vice President), and Ray Fife (Assistant National Secretary).
International unions attending the Conference include the Maritime Union of Australia, ILWU, ILA, Samoa FIRST, RMT (UK), AVC Transcom (Belgium), CFMEU (Australia), Electrical Trades Union (Australia), and Zen Kowan All Japan Dockworkers’ Union.
The International Transport Workers’ Federation, Maritime International Federation and International Dockworkers Council are also attending.
Other New Zealand unions who are attending the conference are AWUNZ, NZEI, Meatworkers’ Union, RMTU, AMEA, E Tu, FIRST Union and the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions (NZCTU).
The conference was opened by a speech from Labour Party leader Andrew Little, and will hear from Green Party co-leader Metiria Turei on Thursday.
On Monday 7 November, a special one day Women and Youth members was held, with women and youth maritime workers attending from throughout New Zealand.
Speakers and presentations included Mich Elle Myers and Mick Cross from the Maritime Union of Australia, Karlson Lingwood of the RMT UK, Sue Bradford, and UNITE representatives Tom Buckley and Nadia Abu Shanab, and speakers from the ILWU.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: